Arcade Fire Blackpool – Review and exclusive pictures

December 5, 2013

When Arcade Fire (maskerading as tribute band The Reflektors) anounced the last date in their album warm up tour I think even Blackpool were slightly unhinged they chose their town. In hindsighte it was perfect. The Empress ballroom (opened in 1878) with its sprung dance floor and mirror balled ceiling set itself up perfectly

Although the band have come in for some critisism from some areas of their fan base for forcing fancy dress apon the audience they needen’t have worried here. Nearly all present chose masks or formal wear and quite frankly the site of a unicorn pogoing up and down next to a man in a slaughtered pig mask was both a delight and one that will be etched onto our memory forever.

Backpool was out to party despite Winn Butler anouncing it was a school night. Glow sticks at the ready, sprung loaded dance floor heaving, when he stated this was possibly the best crowd of the entire tour you wouldn’t want to bet against it.

The band benefitted from their Haitian influence on this new album and flanked by drummers and the introduction of steel drums on Power Out it produced a formidble sound. What impressed us was how well the new songs stood up. What may have taken a coiuple of listens on the new album is immediate and energised from the stage – “Here Come’s The Night Time” especially standing out.

Regine was a stand out when she took to the stage for a highlight of “Sprawl 11” and they even threw in “Wake Up” to the delight of the crowd, who obviously having read previous London reviews, were told not to expect it.

Sadly it was all over to quickly and we could have benefitted from a bonus half an hour (seriously no “Rebelion – Lies” ?) but for a set that compromised 75% of totally new material it was pretty much faultless.

Roll on next years arena show.

Arcade Fire playing as The Reflektors played:

1. Normal Person

2. Flashbulb Eyes

3. Neighborhood #3 (Power Out)

4. Joan Of Arc

5. You Already Know

6. We Exist

7. It’s Never Ever (Oh Orpheus)

8. Afterlife

9. Sprawl 11 (Mountains Beyond Mountains)

10. Wake Up

11. Today your Love, Tomorrow The World

12. Here Comes The Night Time


13. My Body Is A Cage

14. Reflektor

15. Haiti

Leave A Comment

Your voice matters. Conversations are moderated for civility. Read our guidelines here.


Leave a Reply


Radio Player App

Download the SupaJam radio app so you can access SupaJam Radio on your phone!

Support Supajam!